Welcome to Rise Forums

Join our fantastic community to connect with like-minded website owners, WordPress users, and online entrepreneurs.

Responsive web design challenges

Discussion in 'Design & Development' started by Zoe Schmidt, Jan 21, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hello guys! I'm a freelance photographer who's trying a hand in web design at the moment. I've got this client who wants to have a responsive website badly! And honestly I realize I have a lot to learn in this field, but don't want to miss out on the opportunity to get experience and profit! ;)
    So I've got a few questions for the design gurus here :)
    Is it difficult to code a responsive online resource without using frameworks such as Bootstrap or Foundation? Is there any good learning aides/books/anything to get the needed knowledge from that you could recommend?
    Many thanks in advance!

2. Hello Zoe,
    My recommendation is use Bootstrap or Foundation. They will make your job easier and will rapid your development. They have lot of pre made component which will help you lot during development. Also community along these framework is very big and helpful.

But if you still insist, you should start learning css3 media query first.
    Try http://www.w3schools.com/css/css3_mediaqueries.asp
    Or you can search google for responsive design tutorial. Its not that very tough to learn.

Zoe Schmidt likes this.
  3. Hello Zoe, welcome to the wonderful world of web wreathing (took a little while to find anything close to "design" that began with a "w")! I'll address your questions by rebutting Sanjay :)

If you don't have to use bootstrap (or any other framework for that matter), don't. Just because it's easy, doesn't mean you should necessarily do it that way. 15 years ago table-based web design was the easy way to go; it didn't make it right.

There are two glaring issues for me regarding bootstrap: bloat and forward compatibility.