Welcome to Rise Forums

Join our fantastic community to connect with like-minded website owners, WordPress users, and online entrepreneurs.

Turn Freelancing into a Business?

Discussion in 'Freelancing' started by Joe F, Feb 18, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Has anyone got any experience of turning their freelance role into more of a business?

By business I mean something where they aren't the main or only person doing the work.

It could be a web designer who then hires some developers online to do the basic work like setting up the site, to remove themselves from the day to day running.

For me, I work as a freelance writer but there are only so many hours in the day. I'm trying to think of ways I can change the way I work to be able to earn more money (apart from raising rates) and also take some of the focus off of me so I can take on more work, if that makes sense (probably by hiring other people to help). Although this could be done with the type of blogging I do (hiring a ghost writer) its probably not the best route. But other types of writing could be more suited to this approach, such as content marketing blogging for businesses.

Any suggestions?

2. I have thought about starting some sort of content agency that marketed the SEO benefits of the service rather than the blogging aspect of it. I've kind of reached my plateau in freelance writing. I get a decent rate just now, however if I increase it much more, I will struggle to get clients. Which leaves the only way to increase my income is to work more hours - and I'm trying to decrease them!!

From a content point of view, you could make more money in the long term writing books and selling them on Amazon. Or even writing a full course and selling memberships to them.

3. #3 furiousstyles, Feb 19, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2014